You are here



for solo violin

1. Adagio sostenuto ("Mesto Ungherese")
2. Andante macabre – Tempo I

This Etude was written for myself to translate my musical language of that time for my own instrument. From that point of view it is an instrumental-technical etude. On the other hand I wrote this solo piece having a bigger composition for the violin in mind (Sonata for violin and piano, 2003), so it can also be considered as a kind of compositional etude. Important to know is that – by writing this etude - I could avoid taking a violin exam with etudes from Wieniawski and Paganini, not really being my favourites. Unfortunately studying my own music turned out to be much more difficult…

The etude starts with a Mesto, a title that clearly refers to Bartók, who has influenced my style for many years. This part is completely written in two part counterpoint. Then follows an Andante macabre where the violinist is severely put to the test for his rhythmic skills. For this last movement, the performer usually must read two staves, thanks to which the different musical layers of the composition are expressed in a much better way. Furthermore I developed a system of unequally composed bars, existing of pulses of sixteenth notes, added by incomplete triplets. This technique forces the performer to the edge of his skills, yet it works very effectively as a virtuoso gesture. The entire work is written in a free atonal style, although some rhytmic sections appear to be serial.


2. Andante Macabre

Bram Van Camp, violin

7 minutes
  • Solo Violin


deSingel, Antwerp, Blauwe Zaal
Bram Van Camp - Violin