You are here



for violin and ensemble

Introduzione - Agitato


Allegro capriccioso

In this violin concerto the traditional threefold form is experienced as one complete composition, where the solo violin takes the lead. The soloist seems to be improvising and guides the ensemble throughout the whole composition.

In contrast to the traditional concerti for violin, this concerto may not be perceived as a 'dialogue' between soloist and orchestra. Instruments in the ensemble are considered to be a collection of individuals and not as a homogeneous group. As a consequence the musicians will 'try' to imitate the soloist, yet will not always succeed to do so. On top of that, all of the musicians only imitate and comment the soloist each in their own way.

In the Introduzione the violin is only commented in a whispering way leading to the Agitato. There, the soloist imposes the ensemble with small motives, existing of repeating notes. Once these notes are imitated by the ensemble, the soloist is able to demonstrate his capricious virtuosity.

The slow and dreamy Recitativo turns out to be a moment where the violin rules in a melodic way, accompanied by the soft sounds of the celesta.

After a short cadenza leading to the Allegro capriccioso a moto perpetuo evolves (subtitled 'like a folky fiddler'). Here the ensemble can only run after the soloist and 'try' to emphasise the irregular accents. In the finale, the ensemble is shaken awake at last and interferes with the situation. This results in a chaotic discussion leading to the climax with left-hand pizzicati.

Although the score was initially written for an ensemble with solo strings, at the request of the Flanders Symphony Orchestra the composition was reworked for chamber orchestra in 2013.

Bram Van Camp - Concerto for violin and ensemble

Wibert Aerts, solo violin - HERMESensemble, cond. Marco Angius


Concerto voor viool en ensemble (Bram Van Camp), W. Aerts (viool)

Wibert Aerts, solo violin - Flanders Symphony Orchestra, cond. Jonas Alber


16 minutes
  • Flute
  • Oboe
  • Clarinet in Bb/Eb
  • Bass Clarinet in Bb
  • Bassoon
  • Horn in F
  • Trumpet
  • Trombone
  • Percussion (3 players)
  • Piano / Celesta
  • Solo Violin
  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello
  • Double Bass
Concerto for violin and ensemble (Donemus)
Concerto for violin and chamber orchestra (Donemus)
Commissioned by


Antwerp, AMUZ
Wibert Aerts - Solo Violin, HERMESensemble, cond. Marco Angius

Interview Bram Van Camp & Wibert Aerts (Video, NL)

Interview Bram Van Camp & Wibert Aerts (Video)